This list is not comprehensive or legal advice. Always consult a professional before implementing any new processes or practices.
We’re now officially well into the new year, and with that we often see new federal, state and local legislation go into effect that employers need to stay ahead of, or risk consequences. I bet you fell asleep after that sentence didn’t you?
It’s perfectly understandable that many business owners with employees – especially in multiple states – struggle with the demands of running a proper operation while the rules and regs are always changing. And it can be straight up painful to have to pay constant attention to new developments while also leading your business, especially if you don’t employ a gaggle (technical term) of HR professionals, legal counsel and consultants.
But don’t worry — we’re here for you! Each quarter we’ll share any new regulatory changes that are top of mind for our HR operations at EverWash so you can see which might impact you, and if needed, give you a starting point for further inquiry.
Recent Updates to Review as of Q1 2023
- The Federal Trade Commission has proposed banning noncompete agreements
- If you offer medical insurance, you must provide a price comparison tool to employees — this is often provided by your insurance carrier
- As of Jan. 1, three new states — California, Rhode Island, and Washington — became the latest in a line of states, cities, and counties enacting salary transparency laws intended to give workers more leverage to negotiate their earnings and close wage gaps
- If you run your own digital marketing programs, five U.S. states — California, Virginia, Colorado, Connecticut, and Utah — will require companies to offer an opt-out on the collection and sale of personal data, as well as targeted advertising
Other updates, odds & ends:
- Alaska increases minimum wage from $10.34 to $10.85 per hour
- Arizona increases minimum wage from $12.80 to $13.85
- California increases minimum wage to $15.50 per hour, and the exempt salary threshold to $64,480
- Colorado expands Public Health Emergency Leave to include RSV and Flu as well as COVID-19
- Maine increases minimum wage from $12.75 to $13.80 per hour
- Montana increases minimum wage from $9.20 to $9.95 per hour
- New Hampshire offers optional paid family leave insurance
- New Jersey increases minimum wage to $14.13 per hour
- Ohio increases minimum wage from $9.30 to $10.10 per hour
- South Dakota increases minimum wage from $9.95 to $10.80 per hour
- Vermont increases minimum wage from $12.55 to $13.18 per hour
- Washington State increases minimum wage from $14.49 to $15.74 per hour